Art in Writing

Posted on Leave a comment

Before you learned to write, you drew pictures to tell stories. And telling stories through art is every bit as valid as the words you put on a page.

This month, we’re trying our hands at using different arts to complement our writing and enhance your readers’ experience.

Now, I can guess what you’re thinking (because I would totally have thought that too!) – but I want to be a writer, not an artist!

Well, I’m sorry to tell you, but if you’re a writer, you ARE an artist!

Continue reading Art in Writing

A Web of Shooting Stars

Posted on Leave a comment

Written by Emily Wu, age 13

I reach out to slam my laptop shut, but something stops me. The wall in front of me, plastered with fan art and letters and prints, fades. The thoughts are waiting in the shadows to reel me in. it won’t catch me like a net. It will trap me like a web. But I can’t stop reading the words. This author is sooo overhyped. They spin over and over again on the glowing screen; until they set themselves on fire and bore into my mind, setting my anxiety aflame. They brand me. They burn. I tell myself I love this life, the fame, the money. It’s all I’ve ever dreamed of. Overrated. Impostor. They burn. I am a star, a star, a celebrity.

Continue reading A Web of Shooting Stars

The Song of Lewis Carmichael

Posted on Leave a comment

by Sofie Laguna, Illustrated by Marc McBride 

“Matthew stood on the snowy peak and stared out at the world spread before him. Every picture in his books had been limited by the size of the page, contained within frames. Here, there was no frame. Here, the picture didn’t end. Beyond those icy plains, the sea, and beyond the sea, a land that floated on the ice, drifting northwards. Matthew put the binoculars to his eyes and saw valleys and cliffs and rivers all made of snow. Everywhere was white.”

Matthew has dreamed and read and thought about the North Pole for as long as he can remember. And he has done it secretly. It is a place that cannot be tarnished by the world in which he lives – a world in which he struggles to find answers and make friends, while everything seems to come easily to other children.

But one day, a crow called Lewis Carmichael lands at Matthew’s window – a crow who believes in Matthew in the most simple and ordinary ways. Soon, the unexpected voyage of a lifetime begins – and it will change everything…

An unforgettable adventure story from award-winning children’s book author Sofie Laguna, with enchanting illustrations by Marc McBride.

Lakesedge

Posted on Leave a comment

(World at the Lake’s Edge #1)

by Lyndall Clipstone 

A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer.

There are monsters in the world.

When Violeta Graceling arrives at haunted Lakesedge estate, she expects to find a monster. She knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

There are monsters in the woods.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake. A creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn…

There’s a monster in the shadows, and now it knows my name.

Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.

Barkly Mansion and the Weirdest Guest

Posted on Leave a comment

by Melissa Keil

An adorably funny series about a slightly odd house that’s turned upside down when a stranger comes to stay. 
 
There is absolutely NOTHING weird about Cookie, Kyle, Fizzy and Lady Delilah. Except that they live in a mansion — and they’re dogs. 
 
There’s NOTHING weird about their home on Sullivan Street either – until the day a gorilla named Edmund comes to live with them.
 
Then things do start to get a little weird … 

September 2021 Story Contest

Posted on Leave a comment

Appelorium

The imaginary store that wordsmiths can visit to find, create and play with new and exciting words. Because we wordsmiths are just kids in a candy store!

Wordsmith

A skilled user of words.

If you love to play with words, you are a wordsmith.

Story Contest:

Now, here’s a challenge for you. Make up a new word! But don’t just mix a few syllables together randomly – use your life experiences or your own speech patterns to create something utterly unique, something meaningful to you. 

Confession:

I made up the word appelorium

Continue reading September 2021 Story Contest