The Song of Lewis Carmichael

Posted on Leave a comment

by Sofie Laguna, Illustrated by Marc McBride 

“Matthew stood on the snowy peak and stared out at the world spread before him. Every picture in his books had been limited by the size of the page, contained within frames. Here, there was no frame. Here, the picture didn’t end. Beyond those icy plains, the sea, and beyond the sea, a land that floated on the ice, drifting northwards. Matthew put the binoculars to his eyes and saw valleys and cliffs and rivers all made of snow. Everywhere was white.”

Matthew has dreamed and read and thought about the North Pole for as long as he can remember. And he has done it secretly. It is a place that cannot be tarnished by the world in which he lives – a world in which he struggles to find answers and make friends, while everything seems to come easily to other children.

But one day, a crow called Lewis Carmichael lands at Matthew’s window – a crow who believes in Matthew in the most simple and ordinary ways. Soon, the unexpected voyage of a lifetime begins – and it will change everything…

An unforgettable adventure story from award-winning children’s book author Sofie Laguna, with enchanting illustrations by Marc McBride.

Lakesedge

Posted on Leave a comment

(World at the Lake’s Edge #1)

by Lyndall Clipstone 

A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer.

There are monsters in the world.

When Violeta Graceling arrives at haunted Lakesedge estate, she expects to find a monster. She knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

There are monsters in the woods.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake. A creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn…

There’s a monster in the shadows, and now it knows my name.

Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.

Barkly Mansion and the Weirdest Guest

Posted on Leave a comment

by Melissa Keil

An adorably funny series about a slightly odd house that’s turned upside down when a stranger comes to stay. 
 
There is absolutely NOTHING weird about Cookie, Kyle, Fizzy and Lady Delilah. Except that they live in a mansion — and they’re dogs. 
 
There’s NOTHING weird about their home on Sullivan Street either – until the day a gorilla named Edmund comes to live with them.
 
Then things do start to get a little weird … 

When Days Tilt

Posted on Leave a comment

By: Karen Ginnane

Magic, mystery and darkness – a gripping fantasy adventure for lovers of Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights. In this page-turning debut, one girl must figure out why she is the key to two worlds, before time itself falls under the control of the powerful and the greedy.

A historical fantasy adventure for teens set between Victorian London and a darker parallel city.

It’s 1858, and there are two queens on the throne. Victoria reigns over London, the biggest city the world has ever known. But London has a secret shadow city, called Donlon, where another queen, the Green Witch, rules her own domain – time.

London is in turmoil. The Thames is at the height of the Great Stink; a blazing comet is searing the sky; technology is moving so fast it seems otherworldly; and the city is exploding with more people than it can hold. Darwin is about to publish his theory of evolution and humanity’s very place in the world is in question. On top of all this, people are disappearing into thin air. If they return, it is with empty eyes and torn souls, never to be the same again. Ava, a fourteen-year-old Londoner, feels trapped by the limited life of a young Victorian woman and by her watchmaking apprenticeship with her father. Her predictable world is turned upside down when she discovers that the body in her mother’s grave is not her mother, but a stranger.

When Ava goes in search of her real mother and her true identity, she is thrust into the dark world of Donlon and must fight a battle to save those she loves and the future of both worlds . . .

About the Author

Karen Ginnane is an Australian author for middle grade and young adult readers. Her debut historical fantasy adventure novels When Days Tilt and its sequel When Souls Tear are part of the Time Catchers series published by Penguin Random House.

Karen has been variously employed as a freelance copywriter, a marketing director for Paramount Pictures in London, a grain weighbridge operator in rural WA, a swimming teacher, a life model, a deckhand in Chile and an English teacher in Japan. She’s also taught creative writing, published short stories and in 2020 received an Invited Residency to Varuna National Writers’ House for When Souls Tear.

Karen runs a tour operator business with her husband, who is a Londoner, and lives in Melbourne with him and their two children. And two cats.

The Upper World

Posted on Leave a comment

By: Femi Fadugba

A startling original thriller from major new talent Femi Fadugba, THE UPPER WORLD is as mind-blowing as a Christopher Nolan epic with the high-stakes drama of TOP BOY.

A game-changing thriller about two teenagers a generation apart, connected by one bullet with the power to devastate both of their lives. Get ready to reconsider everything you thought you knew about time . . .
Esso is a teenager running out of time and into trouble. Accidentally caught up in a gang war, he receives an unexpected gift- access to a world where he can see glimpses of the past and future. But now Esso has the devastating knowledge that the road he is on will eventually lead to the deaths of the people he loves most.
A generation later, football prodigy Rhia is about to lose everything. When a man comes into her life claiming to know the key to time travel and asking for her help, she becomes obsessed with finding a way back to the past to save the parents she never got to meet . . .

Two teenagers. Fifteen years. One chance to stop a bullet.

Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Dragon

Posted on Leave a comment

By: Rhiannon FieldingChris Chatterton (Illustrator)

Join Flicker and Flash, two cheeky little dragons who don’t want to go to bed!

Written specifically with the aim of calming little ones before bedtime, this stunning adventure story sees two little playful dragons – Flicker and Flash – doing all they can to avoid bed!

About the Author

Rhiannon Fielding is a children’s picture book author whose work includes the Ten Minutes to Bed series (Ladybird Books).

About the Illustrator

Chris Chatterton is an illustrator from County Durham, England, with a background in graphic design and animation.

Mim and the Baffling Bully (The Travelling Bookshop, #1)

Posted on Leave a comment

By: Katrina NannestadCheryl Orsini (Illustrator)

The right book might just change your life …

Mim Cohen roams the world in a travelling bookshop, with her dad and brother and a horse called Flossy. Flossy leads them where she will, to the place where they’re needed most … the place where the perfect book will find its way home.

Now Mim has arrived in a pretty Dutch village where she meets Willemina, a kind and gentle child, who is being bullied by a girl named Gerda.

Mim knows they’re here to help Willemina. To change her life. To make her strong and brave and happy.

If only Dad would find her the right book. If only he would stop giving everyone else the wrong book!

From the beloved author of The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome and We Are Wolves comes an enchanting series for young readers.

Mina and the Whole Wide World

Posted on Leave a comment

Mina is so excited – she’s finally getting her own room! She wants a new room more than anything in the whole world.

But before she can move in, Mina’s parents have some news. Someone is coming to live with them for a while. And that person will need Mina’s room.

Mina is heartbroken. Her parents have broken a promise! Especially when Azzami, the boy who has come to live with them, spends all his time in her room but doesn’t seem to enjoy it.

Continue reading Mina and the Whole Wide World

Girl of the Southern Sea

Posted on Leave a comment

Nia, a girl, living in the slums of Jakarta, Indonesia, desperately wants to continue her education and become a writer. But her family can’t afford the school fees. Instead, she looks after her 5-year-old brother, Rudi, and helps her alcoholic father sell banana fritters at the market. 

But Nia is a writer. She can escape her sad existence by telling stories, taking Rudi with her. 

Continue reading Girl of the Southern Sea